Another Fork in the Road

Well, after waiting 46 days for Thomas and Mercer, a division of Amazon Publishing, to evaluate Hypocrisy, my fourth novel, feeling as if I was awaiting the results of a biopsy, my editor sent me a very tepid and impersonal, five sentence e-mail informing me that they’re not interested in publishing it. When you consider that Amazon published my first three novels and that over the years I have cultivated great professional and personal relationships with many key players on staff at Amazon, it seemed rather cold and insulting for them to kick me to the curb with not so much as a phone call or believable explanation. My editor justified their decision by simply saying that they already had a few mystery/thrillers that take place in New Your City, and that my book would not “compliment” their current list. Really?

First of all, how many novels, TV thriller series, cop shows, lawyer shows and a gazillion other avenues of entertainment take place in NYC? Clearly, Amazon’s rationale doesn’t make sense. Yes, Hypocrisy takes place in NYC, but it’s a medical thriller about a conspiracy to suppress a cure for cancer and the storyline is imaginative and original. I would have much more respect for Amazon if they simply told me that the book is total crap and it’s utterly sophomoric. I can respect honesty—no matter how painful. But I have zero tolerance for B.S.

So, after a great deal of soul-searching, I have decided to self-publish Hypocrisy. It can be a risky business, but my prior books have done pretty well, particularly They Never Die Quietly and Resuscitation. So, my hope is that Hypocrisy can hitch a ride on the success of my first three books.

Stay tuned for more updates.

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Another Fork in the Road

  1. dmannechino

    I’m trying to think of it as yet another opportunity to grow as a writer. Glass half-full.

  2. You are so cool! I don’t believe I’ve truly read a single
    thing like this before. So wonderful to discover another person with some genuine thoughts on this topic.
    Really.. thank you for starting this up. This web site is
    one thing that is required on the web, someone with a little originality!

Leave a comment