Just Returned

Well, the 12-day adventure is over and I’m sitting in front of my computer sorting through 400+ e-mails. Can I go back to Italy? If you’ve never been to Italia, you must go at least once in your life. I’m not a well-travelled person, so it’s hard for me to fairly compare one part of the world from another. However, no matter how you slice it, Italy is a must-see. Rich with culture, remarkable architecture, and breathtaking historic landmarks, you have to see it to believe it.

It all started in Milan and ended in Sorrento, and in-between we ate and drank our way north to south and visited Lake Como, Venice, Florence, Rome, the Vatican, Assisi, Pompeii, Pisa, the Amalfi Coast, and Positano. (One of the most romantic places on Earth.) We climbed through the remains of the Coloseum, navigated our way through the ruins of Pompeii, and stood speechless viewing the numerous cathedrals—each an architectural wonder. We viewed Michengelo’s David and the Pieta and were awestruck by the magnificence of the Sistine Chapel. We roamed cobblestone streets, sampled a variety of Italian wines, and browsed through dozens of charming little shops. And no trip to Italy would be complete without tasting Limoncello and Grappa.

I must admit that I was somewhat disappointed with the food. Perhaps because I’m of Italian descent, or maybe because the food is so hyped up my expectations might have been unrealistic. However, my wife and I sampled Italian Gelato in just about every city and enjoyed every tasty mouthful.

It would take pages and pages of concise detail for me to even begin to describe the wonders of Italy, and even at that I would only be scratching the surface, so I won’t bother. You have to see it for yourself.

We met some amazing people (and a few forgettable ones). With a few, we connected almost immediately and felt as if we’d known them for years. My wife and I feel strongly that we will continue to communicate with several people in our tour group. And who knows, maybe we’ll hook up with them again for another trip to an exotic foreign land.

I won’t bore you by sharing our awful experiences flying to and from Italy. However, I will say that our domestic carriers could learn a lot about customer service and pleasing their patrons by paying close attention to how Lufthansa operates. Even sitting in the economy section, they treated us like First Class passengers, while United Airlines made us feel like cattle. It’s hard to believe that both carriers operate under the Star Alliance Group. I can’t say enough positive things about Lufthansa, or enough negative things about United.

Okay, time for me to tackle my e-mail inbox. There’s always a price to be paid in return for an escape from reality.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

