A Rough Couple Months

Sometimes life comes at you from all angles. The last few months have been a challenge both professionally and personally. I haven’t really felt well for a long time. Muscle aches. Lightheadedness. Overall, just feeling crappy. My doctors tell me there’s nothing wrong with me, but I know my body and something’s going on.

Trying to get an appointment with my primary care doctor is like trying to get an audience with the Pope. Whenever I try to make an appointment, his assistant puts me through the third degree. Most of the time, my doctor prefers to diagnose over the telephone, a practice that really solidifies my confidence in him. Yes, I know. The obvious is for me to find another doctor. But no matter who refers you, no matter how many reviews you read on Yelp and Angie’s list, you never really know if you’re going to connect with a doctor until you’re ill and it’s his-her job to figure out why.

I think the thing that annoys me most is the fact that doctors (yes, I’m generalizing), are great at determining what’s NOT wrong with you, but very poor at figuring out what IS wrong. Enough said.

Moving on, I finished Hypocrisy, book #4 a few weeks ago and sent it off to my agent for her evaluation. The good news: She loved the story concept. The bad news: She feels it needs some work before we submit it to my publisher. As you might imagine, after spending eight months banging away on the computer keyboard, working nearly every day, it was and is disheartening to hear that the book needs more work. I do find solace in the fact that nearly every author—including the heavy hitters—goes through this.

Instead of immediately tackling a rewrite, I thought it would be wise to walk away from the book for a while and start something fresh, hoping a new project would jumpstart my creative juices. Well, I’m about 9,000 words into book #5, titled, A Piece of You (yes, let your imagination run wild), and although I have the beginning and end pretty much figured out, the middle is posing a real challenge. Such is the life of an author. Sometimes this author-business makes a traditional 9 to 5 job quite appealing. Then again . . .

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

