38,000 Words and Counting

I haven’t checked my web site in quite a while, which is inexcusable for a novelist trying to build traffic and promote his books. As a dedicated writer with two published novels, a third to be released on October 16, and a fourth about half completed, I am very upset with myself.

When I check my daily traffic, I am surprised at the number of people who visit my site in spite of my neglect. People who visit web sites with a blog expect to read fresh posts on a regular basis. I feel as though I have failed to fulfill my obligation to my readers. All I can say is that I am truly sorry. I promise to be more attentive and update my blog regularly.

Switching gears, I am 38,000 words into novel #4, titled, Hypocrisy. I’m very pleased with the way it’s developing. I am happy with the flow of the story, and I really like the main characters. I still have lots of work to do, of course, but so far so good.

I do have a few nagging issues with the plot that are making me yank out my hair, so my progress has been slowed down significantly. I wracked my brain trying to resolve these issues to no avail. So I enlisted the services of a good friend who’s an excellent writer and a creative whiz. This gal reads about a book a day, she writes plays, musicals, and God knows what else.

So I met with her yesterday and gave her a hard copy of what I’ve written so far, and posed specific questions. I am completely confident she will offer several suggestions that will again jumpstart my brain. What’s that expression? “Can’t see the forest for the trees” or “Can’t see the trees for the forest.” I can never remember which is correct.

The point is that a writer is so close to his or her work that obvious flaws are invisible. I can read a particular paragraph a hundred times and conclude that it’s perfect. Then someone else will read the same paragraph and point out 5 mistakes. I guess that’s why there are editors in the world.

Well, that’s a wrap for now. I promise to return soon with more thoughts and updates.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

