New Year’s Resolution(s)

So, it’s that time of year once again when we lie to ourselves and make promises and commitments that we know will go by the wayside in a few weeks. Has anyone ever fulfilled a resolution? I wonder. I think that part of the problem is the fact that most people set the mark too high. Instead of resolving to lose 35 pounds, how about 10? Don’t tell yourself that you’re going to the gym 5 days a week. How about 3?

We seem to think that because it’s a new year, we are suddenly blessed with superhuman willpower. Is January 1st really any more significant than August 3rd? We can make resolutions to improve our lives 365 days a year. Why wait for some artificial date?

This year I’m doing something a little different (although I’m sure it’s not original). My resolution is to never make a resolution again for the new year. Instead, when the scale stares at me and laughs hysterically, that’s the day I’ll make a commitment to lose weight. When the alarm clock rings to let me know it’s time to get my butt to the gym and I hit the snooze alarm for the next two hours, that’s the day I’ll drag my ass out of bed.

We should all make resolutions as needed. Right now, I resolve to take a walk to the local CVS drugstore and buy myself a Heath Bar.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “New Year’s Resolution(s)

  1. Understandable…you’re at the age when all people start to sound like Andy Rooney *snicker**

  2. Kenny… no…

    D.M – Good Approach

Leave a Reply

