Pinch me!

Every once in a while something happens in your life that feels totally surreal. Sometimes good; other times not so good. Here’s a happy story.

As you know—or maybe you don’t—Thomas-Mercer, a publishing division of Amazon.com, published Resuscitation, my second novel, on October 11. My first novel, They Never Die Quietly, did pretty well, but not well enough for me to earn a down payment for that little villa in Tuscany I’ve had my eyes on. My expectations for Resuscitation were cautiously optimistic, but I never even thought for a moment that something amazing would happen.

The day after Thomas-Mercer released Resuscitation, I got an e-mail from Terry Goodman, my editor at Amazon. The subject line of the e-mail read, “OH! MY! GOD!”  As you might imagine, my curiosity shifted into high gear in a nanosecond. When I read the e-mail, I literally had to pinch myself. Terry wrote, “Resuscitation is #1 in Kindle sales in the UK. They love you there!”

I had to read the e-mail several times to fully grasp what this meant. #1? Of all the e-books sold in the UK, Resuscitation outsold them all? Holy shit! Now I do have to put this statistic in proper perspective. This ranking in no way places me anywhere near the sales volume of the big guns—not even in the same dimension. I’ve got a long, long way to go before I even hit #1000 on the New York Times Bestseller list. Regardless of this windfall, I’m still a bottom feeder trying to make his mark. But #1in any category is still #1.

Needless to say, I must have checked my sales ranking on-line every hour on the hour. I stayed at this #1 spot for eight glorious days. But on October 19, I slipped to the #2 spot. Am I complaining? Not on your life. If I can hang on to a ranking in the top 10 for any length of time, I will be thrilled beyond anything I could have imagined. On second thought, if my ranking plunged to #1,000 tomorrow, I would have no regrets or ill feelings.

The one huge benefit of being #1 in any category offering a product or service is that sales generate sales. The higher your ranking, the more exposure to potential buyers. It’s an amazing cycle.

There’s even more good news. Because sales on Resuscitation have been so brisk, my first novel, They Never Die Quietly, is hitching a ride on its success and doing some great numbers too. So, to say I’m excited is an understatement. There are few adjectives in the English language that can accurately describe my euphoria. After two decades of rejection from nearly every literary agent and publisher in the country, maybe, just maybe, my time has come. Stay tuned for updates.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

