The Business of Writing

I don’t know about you, but I hate to wait for anything—particularly  things that are significant. My second novel, Resuscitation, is scheduled to be  released on October 11. Before it’s launched, a number of things have to take place to ensure that this book has the best possible chance for success. Marketing and promotion are crucial.

It’s a crowded marketplace out there and thousands of authors are trying to make their mark competing for new readers. Unless an author has an established following or his or her book creates a real buzz, great books often vanish to obscurity. What frustrates me most is the fact that the literary value of a book seems to take a backseat to effective marketing. Selling the “sizzle” is more important than the quality of the “steak.” This is not only true in the literary world, but applies to just about every product or service on the planet. Strategic marketing can make a silk purse out of a sow’s ear.

So, for an author to be successful, he or she needs to be more than a writer. You must market your little butt off, networking through social websites like Twitter and Facebook. You must send out hundreds of advanced reader copies to reviewers. You must maintain a website/blog that’s interesting and keeps readers coming back. You must try to coordinate book signings and interviews and make yourself as visible as possible. Authors today are 50% writer and 50% PR person.

To be honest, I hate the marketing part of writing. I wish I could just sit comfortably in front of my computer and create. But unless your name is Stephen King or J.K. Rowling, you just don’t have that luxury. Okay. Enough complaining. Time for me to make my daily splash on Facebook.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “The Business of Writing

  1. Well you could be sitting in a windowless IT room wondering what the weather is like outside, and only thinking about the business of writing. By the way it’s pronounced “Bid-ness” just so you know. It’s the way all the hip kids say it now.

    Seriously though how could you not have known that “whore” is in the job description of a professional author? The bottom line is you are right it is all about marketing. Let’s use the animal kingdom as an example. If there isn’t some initial attraction then there ain’t gonna be any fornication later on. Marketing is all the things that help you “seal the deal”, and by that I mean make someone actually fork over real scrill for your prose.

    So Daniel…wear tighter jeans, get a racy bio, a fake eye-patch, maybe a bicep tattoo, and suck it up.

    A nearly naked Megan Fox on the cover of your novel wouldn’t hurt either. Before you know it you will be doing junkets in Vegas, and Lady Gaga will be doing the soundtrack to your first movie!

  2. dmannechino

    You made some good points–and also made me laugh. I guess I’m just not savvy enough to come up with some unique ideas to get the attemntion of readers. Maybe instead of D. M. Annechino, I’ll change my name to Gentleman Gaga.

  3. Having done a looooong turn in broadcasting, where I did marketing for everyone under the sun, I still hate the prospect of hitting the promotional grind when my book goes live. Good luck@

  4. dmannechino

    Thank you!

    • You’re welcome. Let me know when you publish and I’ll be happy to mention you on Twitter & Facebook – not a huge fan of either but they are awesome free marketing options. Better still to have someone ELSE promoting your book🙂

  5. dmannechino

    The book title is Resuscitation and it is scheduled to be released on October 11. Check it out on Amazon.com. And thanks again.

  6. rob

    Ugh, October seems SO FAR AWAY! Oh well, I’m sure it will be worth it🙂

  7. dmannechino

    Thanks for the vote of confidence!

  8. Resuscitation… I buy it🙂

Leave a Reply

