A Bird in the Hand

After thoughtful consideration and weighing all the factors, I decided to publish Resuscitation  through Amazon Encore, which was where I published They Never Die Quietly. I was delighted when they offered to publish my second novel. It’s a scary world out there for a novelist trying to make a name for himself. It’s a long, bumpy road. When you consider that I wrote my first novel back in 1993, and it wasn’t until 2010 that my fourth effort was finally published, well, needless to say, if you can’t handle rejection and you aren’t willing to pay your dues, you’re in the wrong business. 

I had considered seeking publication from a traditional publisher. But here’s the problem. First off, online sales numbers are beating the crap out of the sales numbers through “brick and mortar” stores like Barnes & Nobel and Border Books, who by the way, will likely go out of business. 

Second, unless you’re Stephen King or James Patterson, it’s hard to get an equitable deal with a traditional publisher. Typically, if they do give your book a shot, the advance is minimal, it often takes 12 to 18 months before the book is published, and worst of all, they won’t spend one thin dime on marketing or promotion; it all rests on the author’s shoulders. 

So, the die is cast. I made what I believe is a sound business decision. I don’t expect that Resuscitation will be published until later in the year. But it’s time for me to get started on the next book, which will be a departure from the first two books. I don’t know how authors write series that go on forever. I’m ready for fresh characters and a different storyline. Fasten your seat belts because in the not-too-distant-future, I will launch a political thriller entitled, I Do Solemnly Swear

Stay tuned for updates.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A Bird in the Hand

  1. Sir Ronald Bradnam

    can i get them on some form of ebook or do i have to buy a paper copy, i will give one a crack which is the best, i will trust your judgement and not search them out or look for reviews.

    • Daniel

      They Never Die Quietly is available as and e-book on Kindle through the Amazon.com website. Resuscitation won’t be available until later this year. I’d really be curious to hear your feedback.

Leave a Reply

