Stuck

Since I retired from my “day job” on April 1st, I’ve been working feverishly on Resuscitation, the sequel to They Never Die Quietly. As I’ve mentioned in the past, the creative juices have been pouring out of me and thus far I’ve written about 39,000 words. No writer’s block here; just idea after idea. 

Unfortunately, I’ve now reached a point in the writing where I’m stuck. I know where the story is going, what the villain has planned, the challenges the protagonist faces, and I know how the story will end. What I don’t know is how to make these things happen in a logical, believable way. 

Like most writers, I’m a bit superstitious. I don’t want anyone to read even a sentence of this book until it’s completed and I am at the point where I need some objective feedback so I can work on the final edit. Letting anyone read the first draft at the halfway point—except for my agent, of course—borders on criminal. 

But if I’m stuck, I have to get “unstuck”, and the only logical way for that to happen is for me to sit down with a few of my creative friends/associates, give them an overview of where I want the story to go, and brainstorm ideas.   

Those I choose to help me with this project will have to sign their names in blood and agree not to share one single written word with anyone in the universe. And if they do violate this pledge, my Uncle Nunzio, a man who specializes in designing custom-made concrete shoes, will pay them a little visit. So, if you get a call from me, think twice before you say, “Yes”.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Stuck

  1. JAC

    What if I make Uncle Nunzio…an offer that he can’t refuse….like a homemade, steaming plate of pasta with all the fixins’?? 🙂 God has a plan for you…you’ll get “unstuck” & it will all come together.

Leave a Reply

