Back in the Saddle

Since retiring from my day job on April 1st, I haven’t written a single word in Resuscitation, the sequel to They Never Die Quietly. No excuses, but to be fair, I did spend two weeks in NY visiting family and searching for a home. And of course, as you might imagine, writing during this time was nearly impossible. So why haven’t I kicked the creative juices into high gear since returning from NY?

Basically, I’ve been caught up with other, less important tasks. I roll out of bed early and am generally at the gym by 7:15ish. After my 35 minute workout, I return home with the best intentions, but time just piddles away. It seems that making the bed, washing dishes, going to the bank, picking up groceries, maintaining my car, preparing dinner, and an assortment of other menial duties, have a higher priority than completing my next novel. Bear in mind that I am under contract to complete this novel no later than November 30th. So, I have every reason to make it Number 1 on my list of things to do.

What I’ve learned in the short time I’ve been retired is that you need a plan for each day. If you take things as they come, one day leads to the next and to the next, and at the end of the week you’ve done squat. So here’s my plan: come hell or high water, each and every day, I have set a goal for myself to write a minimum of 1,000 words. Now I realize that on some days the creative juices might not be flowing and you can’t force the creative process lest you write absolute crap. So, on good days I may write 1,500 words, and on not-so-good days, I might only write 500 words. But somehow, someway, I’m going to find a way to average 1,000 words a day. Beginning today.

That said, it’s 12:10 pm and I’m about 1,000 words short of my 1,000 word goal. Stay tuned for more.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

