Emotional Roller Coaster

Needless to say, I have been sitting on pins and needles since Amazon Encore launched my novel on February 16th. No matter how diligent or comprehensive the marketing plan, there is no way to predict how the reading public will receive your book, particularly when you’re a newbie. You might only sell 10 books or you could sell 10 million. It’s a lot easier for established authors because they at least have a reference based on past performance. 

When the February sales numbers came out, I was pleasantly surprised. My novel did better than I had expected. But then March rolled around and I found myself back to square one. Selling books is a monthly game, and every month the slate is wiped clean and it’s a new ballgame. It’s not that the past sales numbers are insignificant; it’s merely that the past is the past. It’s not what you did yesterday; it’s what you did today. 

Now I can monitor my sales ranking on Amazon 100 times a day. And make no mistake about it, ranking is important.  However, it doesn’t give me the whole picture. So as I anxiously wait for this month to come to an end—for more than one reason; I’m retiring on March 31—I can only hope that the wave of good news continues. 

For those who have already purchased my book, I thank you. For those who haven’t, what are you waiting for? My blood pressure needs your help.🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Emotional Roller Coaster

  1. Kristi

    Just wanted to leave a note to let you know I thought your book was excellent. What a sick and twisted character you’ve dreamed up with a great heroine. I am looking forward to reading more about Sami Rizzo and Det. Diaz. Please tell me this is the beginning of a series.

    Again…OUTSTANDING book!!

    • Thanks for your kind words, Kristi. I am working feverishly on the sequel, but don’t expect to be done until the end of the year. Check in to my blog periodically for updates. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

