Good News; Bad News

The bad news first: I got another negative reader review and it really chaps my butt. I’ve been warned not to take it personally, but how can you avoid it and not take the criticism to heart? As I’ve said before, fiction, just like any creative art, is very subjective. What one person thinks is a Pulitzer Prize novel, another thinks is garbage. Some of the greatest, most successful novels in history have gotten slammed by reviewers. But still, it hurts. 

A successful writer associate of mine who has helped me deal with this issue by sharing some of his negative reader reviews (misery loves company), put my mind at ease (at least a little), when he said, “Those who can’t write, teach. And those who can’t teach, critique.” 

Amen 

The good news: My novel is ranked #5 for “Literary Fiction” on Amazon’s Kindle. For those who are unfamiliar with Kindle, it’s an electronic gizmo that allows you to pay a fee and electronically download a book. For those who don’t want to clutter their closet shelves with a book collection, Kindle is a great alternative—not to mention that it takes about 60 seconds to complete the download. 

I’ll keep you posted on the good and the not-so-good. 

Here’s what Kindle looks like.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Good News; Bad News

  1. I have had more bad reviews that I can even remember. Join the club, Daniel. You are in good company!

  2. Daniel

    Now I feel so much better!

Leave a Reply

