Hobnobbing

As an author living in San Diego, I was invited to attend the 44th Annual Local Author’s Exhibit to be held at the main branch of the San Diego Public Library. This will be a great opportunity to meet other authors, share ideas, and hear about successes as well as failures. This event is a terrific networking opportunity.

To be frank, I’m not totally comfortable in crowds. Most people who know me would probably dispute this statement. I appear to be outgoing and an extrovert. But the truth is that I’m more comfortable with less people around. Now there are exceptions. When I’m with a group of people I know well, I have no problem getting in the groove and showing my gregarious nature. But with a group of strangers, I’d rather sit in a quiet corner counting the minutes until I can leave.

This hang up of mine hobnobbing with strange crowds, poses a major challenge for me as an author. I’m told by those who know marketing and promotion that in this day and age, a writer—particularly a novelist—needs to lead the charge and get as much public exposure as possible.

This event at the San Diego Public Library is merely the tip of the iceberg. As the publication date for They Never Die Quietly rapidly approaches, (the release date is February 16th), I will undoubtedly attend other such functions, not to mention book signings, interviews and God knows what else.

So, I guess it’s time for me to get over my phobia and learn how to be the life of the party. And I thought I was only a writer.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Hobnobbing

  1. Your sis, Ro

    I never knew you were like that. I’m the exact same way, just ask Steve.
    Only difference is you have to get used to it. Maybe the more you do it, the easier it gets…

  2. Ken

    two words….liquid courage

  3. poolagirl

    I’ll be there. I won’t let the wolves eat you!

Leave a Reply

