Living the Dream

Well, I began my three-day workweek on Monday and I must tell you that it felt great. No Sunday evening blues. No alarm clock (although I did get my butt out of bed at 6:30 and went to the gym). And no early morning traffic. I really think I’m going to love working Tuesday through Thursday. Who the hell wouldn’t? 

Of course as is the case with most silver linings, there are always a few flies in the ointment. For me, I have to cram five-days’ productivity into three days. The nature of my job is such that the floodgates remain open even when I’m not in the office. The customers I serve are still going to call and send e-mails on Mondays and Fridays, and they expect a timely response. Most really don’t give a hoot about my situation. They want what they want when they want it. But that’s okay. As a compromise, and as part of negotiating the three-day deal, I agreed to turn on my work cell phone on Mondays and Fridays just in case something critical comes up. But what I consider critical may be significantly different than what my customers perceive. Hope I didn’t shoot myself in the foot.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Living the Dream

  1. poolagirl

    Things will calm down and find a rhythm. Trust me.

Leave a Reply

