The Hourglass is Draining

Final CoverAmazon.com just issued a news release today announcing the re-launch date of the new, improved version of They Never Die Quietly. It’s currently available on a pre-order basis, but won’t officially be launched until February 16, 2010. That’s 97 days or 2,328 hours or 139,680 minutes—want to know how many seconds? 

Here’s the link to the news release: Click HERE. Needless to say, I’m chewing on my fingernails. 97 days seems like an eternity. But I’ve got plenty to keep me busy. In fact, I have a conference call scheduled tomorrow with Amazon Encore’s PR gal and my book publicist to discuss the overall marketing plan and who’s going to do what. In this very competitive business of writing novels, a new author has the tiniest window of time to make a splash and create a buzz. If you don’t strike while the iron is hot, not even the next Silence of the Lambs has a snowball’s chance in hell of making it big.   

Strictly from a dollar and cents perspective, marketing and promotion far outweigh the literary quality of the book itself. That’s why some really crappy novels hit the NY Times Bestseller list and a few remarkable works of fiction never gain any traction and fade to oblivion. It’s sad. But it’s the way of the world. 

The publicist I hired didn’t come cheap; it was a significant investment. But I truly believe in the adage, “Go big or stay home”. If I approach this whole writing-career-thing halfheartedly, I will likely be the architect of my own demise. If my book doesn’t meet my lofty expectations, then at least I can find solace in knowing that I gave it my all. 

So, fasten your seatbelts. The countdown has begun.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “The Hourglass is Draining

  1. YOUR SIS, RO

    I read the news release, pretty awesome!

  2. poolagirl

    It’s all about the marketing. You are doing the right thing!

  3. Jac

    Fantastically creepy new cover!!! 96 days…..:)

Leave a Reply

