Damn Yankees

As a guy who was born and raised in Upstate New York, you might think that I’m jumping for joy over the New York Yankees winning another world series. Well, I’m not. In fact, I could almost puke. When you live in NY, either you’re a Yankee lover or a Yankee hater; no one is indifferent or middle of the road. I’m on the Yankee-hater-team. 

Mickey MantleNow this wasn’t always the case. When I was a kid, I adored the Yankees—the days of Mickey Mantle, Roger Maris, Yogi Berra. Back then the players were raised, cultivated and nurtured through the farm system. Today, they’re the best team money can buy. With a payroll over 100 million dollars, is it any wonder they’ve won so many titles in recent years? 

Sour grapes? Maybe. But no one can deny that their success in large part is a result of their enormous payroll and their ability to stack the deck. I mean the guy who bats 8th in the Yankee lineup is a cleanup batter on almost any other team. 

One of my favorite sports moments of all time was the year that the Boston Red Sox were down three games to zip against the Yankees in the American League Championship Series and they came back to win four-in-a-row to earn a place in the World Series.  They went on to beat the crap out of the Saint Louis Cardinals and won their first World Series title in over 80 years, thus breaking the “Curse of the Bambino”.   

As a transplant living in San Diego, I am now a huge Padres fan but I haven’t had much to cheer about over the last few years. We made it to the World Series a few years back and guess who we played? Yep. Those Damn Yankees. And you know what happened? The Yankees cleaned our clock—beat us four straight. In fact, we were downright humiliated. More reason for me to despise the men in the pinstriped uniforms. Don’t even get me started on the New York Giants and Eli Manning.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Damn Yankees

  1. poolagirl

    Okay, I won’t get you started!

  2. Ken

    Sorry Buddy I’m from Upstate NY too..Siberacuse to be exact. The Chiefs were a farm team for the Yanks and I am a die hard…now since I moved out here in 79 I became a Giants fan somewhat, but I figgered it was OK because they are in the National League. I keep hearing the mantra over and over again it must be nice to buy a world series and I really have only two responses to that:
    1) It’s a free market economy. Many team owners these days are worth Billions. If they wanted to spend more they could, but they don’t..why? Well because they can make a larger profit margin for being adequate and not putting as much into payroll. Plain and simple.
    2) Money doesn’t guarantee it. Look how much money they have spent on A-rod and Texeira and I consider the two to essentially be October Duds. Not to mention the Yanks have lost as many world series and pennants with the same size payroll
    Finally, I think everyone has to have a villain. Star Wars has its Vader, Freedom has Glenn Beck, and Baseball has the Yankees. If I may use a popular New York colloquialism I am sure you will understand. “I got your payroll right here pal!”🙂

    • Daniel

      Points well taken. However, to resort to my own New York colloquialism, “Put it where the sun don’t shine.” Thanks for comparing the Yankees to Glenn Beck; that warms me to my core.🙂

  3. I love that you are keeping up with your blog and your face book. Good little writer/author. This is how I will be able to keep connected with you when you become really famous and have to travel the world.

Leave a Reply

